Who I Am

I identify myself with Polish culture. I was born in America, but I would consider my values to come from more of a Polish background than an American background. My father was born in Poland, and my mother’s parents were born in Poland. My closest community is the group of people that live in my house, the polish community in Worcester, my nursing classmates, and the friends I dance with on the Worcester State dance company, and the catholic community. My culture influences that standards I’ve set for my present day and my future, it influences my thinking and what I expect of myself and of other people. It has influenced by decision to go to college and be a successful woman with a career with the ability to one day support a family. Without my culture, I’m absolutely wouldn’t be who I am today and I wouldn’t approach life and situations in the same way.

The three values I find to be most important are integrity, dedication, and loyalty. These values have been instilled in me from the beginning of my childhood, and I feel that I exemplify these three values well. Honesty is important in building relationships and a reputation for yourself, dedication is necessary to make anything desirable and fruitful a part of your life, and loyalty is what makes any close relationship special. These values were very important and key when it came to my family emigrating from Poland and coming to America and establishing a life here. I also have certain values because of my religion, and the fact that religion and culture are very intertwined in my life and my family makes us a very tight knit group of Polish Roman Catholics with very firm values. Sometimes we seem judgmental, and some of us are, but I recognize that it’s important to accept other cultures and cultural values

My ethical standpoint is parallel to the “Golden Rule”; or treating others how you would like to be treated. It’s important to be mindful of other people and not cause any harm to others, either intentionally or passively. I think it is important to make choices based on what is best for the largest amount of people- while at the same time, its important to watch out for yourself and protect your family and loved ones. It is important to defend justice and protect others when they are not in the position to advocate for themselves. I think there is something to be said about a balanced life- a balance between being selfless and selfish, both caring for others and also putting the your own needs first when its appropriate. One of the most important lessons I’ve learned as a student nurse is that you need to put yourself in the best possible position to be able to help other people. Its not healthy to be selfless at all times- selfishness is a survival skill. Someone told me “you have to worry about yourself before you can worry about other people”, otherwise, it’ll be fruitless, maybe even self-destructive. I believe an ethical person is level headed and is able to take many standpoints into consideration, finding peace in the way they treat others and themselves.

I chose the bottom three pictures because I am Polish and I am Catholic, and both of those identifiers have played a huge role in shaping my lifestyle. Also, I chose a picture of Pope John Paul the Second because my family really appreciates everything he stood for. Needless to say, we were biased because he was also Polish and Catholic.

PJP2 cross polish eagle

 

2 thoughts on “Who I Am

  1. You said that your standards apply to present day and the future…do you think that these standards could change? I think that values and standards are something that is dependent on experiences that you have….what do you think?

  2. Wow, I did not know that you’re in dance company as well! I always found myself fascinated with other peoples’ cultures because they’re all so unique. With that being said, I’m not from Worcester and I didn’t know that there was such a big population of polish people here! Also, nice choice in values. Being a nursing major, I’d say that it’s pretty important to have integrity when it comes to your work, and to have dedication and loyalty to your patient.

Leave a Reply

