Trisomy 21

I’ve always had very strong opinions about abortion. I don’t really thing abortion is morally justifiable in any circumstance. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been raised as a Roman Catholic, or maybe its because I’ve always had really motherly figures in my life. I don’t think abortion is justifiable for many reasons. One reason in particular is the impending guilt that an individual experiences after the abortion takes place- something that many people neglect to recognize when deciding on whether or not to go through with the life ending procedure.

I believe that it would be wrong for parents to abort a fetus with trisomy 21. I believe it is wrong because every life has the right to live. I believe that the very nature of a women, the woman being able to bear children, gives the women the responsibility to protect human life in its most vulnerable form- when it wouldn’t be able to survive by itself. The woman has the responsibility to care for the child, as described in ‘ethics of care’.

The only time I believe abortion should be justified would be when the women’s life or possibility of future fertility is jeopardized. For example, in the event of ectopic pregnancy, I believe that it would be justifiable to abort the pregnancy. However, that is not to say that there will not be impending guilt and perhaps subsequent depression for the mother who carried this pregnancy.

I also believe that abortion is justified in cases of rape- but it wouldn’t make a difference if the fetus had trisomy 21 or had the standard number of chromosomes.

Prenatal testing can be very beneficial. Prenatal testing and care is necessary so that women can prepare their bodies well enough to provide their fetuses with the best possible chances of being able to adapt to life outside of the uterus after 40 weeks. I believe the if women choose to have the amniocentesis test, that is their personal choice. This test allows mothers time to accept the diagnosis, allowing themselves time to prepare and establish the necessary resources they will need for caring for a child with downs syndrome. However, I believe that sometimes these tests cause unnecessary anxiety by giving the mother and in some cases the father, the choice of whether of not to abort the fetus. In my opinion, I wouldn’t abort the fetus. However, if I was pregnant and took the amnio-test and found out that my child would have downs syndrome, it would be stressful to hear everyone’s opinion and know that I would still have a ‘way out’- which seems totally selfish and inhumane in my opinion.

I would assume that some people feel that prenatal testing is unnecessary because the human species has been reproducing for countless years, and prenatal testing has only come to be popular within the past 30 years or so, if that. The argument could be that, child bearing has always gone well in the past, why should we use such invasive procedures for something so natural. Natural, some people think child birth and being pregnant is so beautiful because it is the most human thing that has been constant throughout history- some people believe that extra measures are unnecessary.

I feel that abortion is a really touchy topic. It’s really hard to debate this because truthfully, I’ve never been pregnant. More importantly, I’ve never had an unwanted pregnancy. However, I can’t fail to recognize that it’s necessary to respect human life in all of its forms. I suppose, however, that it depends on an individual’s opinion on when human life starts. If someone doesn’t believe human life begins until the child is born, well then I guess it would be really easy for them to justify abortion. If you’re someone like me who thinks that human life beings at the moment of conception, or at least when that test turns positive, then you would probably have a really hard time justifying abortion at any point during the pregnancy. I think the main moral issue at hand here is respecting life, beneficence, and nonmaleficence.

Meet Paisley

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2440151/Father-Heath-White-loved-Down-Syndrome-daughter-abortion-request.html

http://now.msn.com/heath-white-talks-about-daughter-paisleys-down-syndrome-in-perfect-documentary

5 thoughts on “Trisomy 21

  1. Our views are very similar. I also believe it is wrong because every life should have the right to live. I do agree that if the women’s life or the future fertility is jeopardized, then it is justifiable. But, I also had a little different outlook than you. I also believe that in rape cases, abortion is justified, but also should not be taken advantage of. I DO think it is okay for a person who was raped to abort a baby, but if they choose to keep their baby, I do not think they should change their mind just because the fetus has trisomy 21.

  2. I agree with you that abortion is definitely a tough subject, especially when so many of us haven’t been pregnant or had an unwanted pregnancy. But I too believe that it is important to remember to treat all others with genuine respect, no matter who they are. I believe that a lot of people may abort out of sheer stress (of an unwanted pregnancy, rape, or any other reasons) and then regret it later. People need to really think long and hard about tough choices like these and be sure of their decision no matter what everyone else has to say, or what factors play into it.

  3. I agree with you that abortion is definitely a tough subject, especially when so many of us haven’t been pregnant or had an unwanted pregnancy. But I too believe that it is important to remember to treat all others with genuine respect, no matter who they are. I believe that a lot of people may abort out of sheer stress (of an unwanted pregnancy, rape, or any other reasons) and then regret it later. People need to really think long and hard about tough choices like these and be sure of their decision no matter what everyone else has to say, or what factors play into it.

    1. Yes, but sometimes I don’t feel that people are in the position to get out of their own box of current problems to recognize that there will be emotional repercussions after the fact. There should be mandated counseling before abortion is considered an option.

Leave a Reply

