Introduction Part 3

The funny thing about fun is that it’s different for everyone. Some people think video games are fun, other people think reading is fun, and some people just don’t do anything and call it ‘fun’. I don’t feel like I have much time for fun, school pretty much takes over. I go to New York a lot, to visit my friends and family, and I always consider that a fun time. I dance twice a week for a few hours in the dance company at Worcester State, and I am choreographing two dances for the showcase in December. I enjoy spending time with my family, especially my cousins, and watching really good movies- like Oscar winning movies. Just recently I went to go see Captain Phillips with my cousin Julia, I recommend it. I also really appreciate nature. I don’t go camping or hiking or snowboarding or skiing, or anything like that. But the beauty of nature is just so mesmerizing to me. I really enjoy going to the beach and appreciating what God gave us on this earth.

I am a nursing major, and I will be graduating (God willing) with my bachelors degree in the Science of Nursing in May of 2014. I originally had a minor in Spanish, but decided against that. There are many reasons as to why I wanted to be a nurse. One of the main reasons I wanted to be a nurse is because of my grandpa. He was diagnosed with cancer in August of 2008 and spent a while in the hospital. Up until that time I wanted to be a pharmacist or a lawyer and he always told me I was going to be a nurse because they were good people. I laughed it off, saying I’d never be able to take care of someone like that. He passed away in April of 2009. That was my junior year of high school and it was time to start really thinking about my future and colleges. Over the next few months I felt really lost in my life and spent a lot of time praying and asking God for guidance. Before I knew it, I was accepted into the nursing program here at WSU. It wasn’t a definitive moment and it wasn’t a decision I made, I was simply going through the motions. I am so very thankful that I reached out to a higher power because through that and the guidance from my grandpa, I started nursing school. There isn’t a day that goes by that a doubt that I made the right decision (well, the decisions were made for me, rather) and there isn’t a second I toy with switching majors- this was what I was meant to do.

I’ll share another aspect of my life that reinforced my desire to be a nurse. My cousin was pregnant with twin boys and was sent to the hospital because of an incompetent cervix at 24 weeks- she was in danger of going into labor, and for lack of a better phrase, loosing her children. I wasn’t really present for her because I was 18 at the time and she was in New York. The boys ended up being born at 25 weeks and just had their 2nd birthday. The story she tells me always brings me to tears. She talks about when she woke up and she was bleeding, called in the nurse, and was in the OR within a matter of minuets to have these children. She says, “I was so scared- these were my kids, but I knew the nurses were taking care of me, I knew that I was there top priority”. And sometimes when I think about it, it really is so crazy how if something really hits the fan- there is like 30 people in the room waiting to help in any way they can. If there is a code blue or something goes wrong- there are people lining up to save someone’s life. Its really inspiring, and I want to be that strength for someone.

In order for me to attain my goals, I really just have to manage my time and my money. I need money to do everything- go to school, put gad in my car, eat, etc. Time management also plays into this because I have to figure out when I can work, when I can study, when I can spend time with my family. I don’t think that me achieving my goals has a negative impact on anyone directly. I recognize that I don’t spend as much time with my family and friends as I would like to, primarily because of time constraints and because a lot of my family is in New York. While I don’t think I cause anyone pain of suffering, I do recognize that my family does sacrifice in order to pay my tuition so that I can be a nurse and start my career at a young age, and for that I am so thankful because they are not obligated to contribute to my future in that way at all. My family always helps me out by feeding me, throwing me gas money, offering emotional support, etc. My happiness is directly related to the genuine happiness of everyone close to my heart- if they are happy, I can find a way to be happy.

The similarity between all three of our lessons so far, is that they are all based on goodness and happiness, and how one is in relation to the other. Aristotle spoke of virtues, and how to achieve happiness we need to use virtues in moderation. Kant stressed morality and how we should always make the moral decision, no matter what. I specifically remember that Kant did not allow for a gray area- it was black or white, right or wrong. Mills went towards the utilitarian approach and wrote that we much make decisions based on what is right for the greater good of society and that the greater good of society is what is most important. Aristotle focused on virtuous activities and their effect on our happiness, while Mills wrote about the happiness of others and the greater population. Mills wrote about always doing the moral and right thing, regardless of who is affected because it is simply the right thing to do.

I chose the following pictures because dancing and the beach make me happy.

pacific ocean

colorful pointes

 

I chose the picture of the stethoscope because it is my goal to be a nurse and work for the best interest of my patients in all aspects of life- medical, physical, emotional, and social.

stethoscope heart

 

One thought on “Introduction Part 3

Leave a Reply

