Who I Am

happiness

My name is Cecilia Natkaniec. I am the daughter or Peter and Joanna, and I a first generation American with a strong family background in Poland. I live in Worcester, but I’m originally from the New York area. I am a nursing student, and hope to find a fulfilling career in helping people and meeting the needs of the population seeking health care. These are all facts about me, things people know about me. All of these facts answer what I am- not really who I am. I’ve spend a lot of time thinking about who I am, and why I’m here, and what the purpose of everything is. Sometimes it sounds depressing, as if I was depressed in asking these questions- “What is the point?”, “Why am I here?”, and “What is my purpose?”- the irony is that I have no depressed feelings when asking myself these things, I just really want to know!

I think qualities are a great way to describe who I am. I would like to consider myself a hard working individual, a type A personality, a ‘go-getter’(however, what other people think of me, I am not so sure).  I value a strong connection with friends and family. I pride myself on being trustworthy, honest, and loyal. I think it’s important to be a reliable individual, and be there for someone when they need you. I consider myself very positive and ‘happy’.

good qualities: positive, happy, giving, caring, loving, on-time, dedicated, loyal

bad qualities: ‘always in a rush’, easily stressed out, worrisome, perhaps a little too concerned with appearances, read too much into things, and I appreciate materialistic things a more than I care to admit

I think sometimes qualities can be good and bad. For example- I’m always concerned about other people. This has to be a good thing right, caring for other people? But what if I am so concerned about other people, that I can’t attend to my own life and my own problems- food for thought, I guess.

My immediate goals are to finish college with a Bachelors Degree in the Science of Nursing, and to be employed as a nurse within the next year. My goals in life are to have a family of my own and take care of the family I have now- my parents, grandparents, cousins, etc. Happiness, to flourish and have maintain a state of well-being is very important to me. The best way I can describe true happiness is “a heart warming feeling”. A pair of shoes, a new iPhone, nor an ice cream cone, can make my heart feel warm. Success, becoming a nurse, and knowing I had finished four years of college without getting eaten alive- that’s going to make me feel accomplished, and that’s heart warming. Thanksgiving, Christmas, birthdays, and other milestones with your family- that’s heart warming. Getting married and having a family with the person you love- that is probably going to be the most indescribable feeling in the world. Those things are the only way I can describe ‘happiness’.

“Achievement of your happiness is the only moral purpose of your life, and that happiness, not pain or mindless self-indulgence, is the proof of your moral integrity, since it is the proof and the result of your loyalty to the achievement of your values.” – Ayn Rand

Unknown

The picture directly above shows a very sincere act of kindness, which is a virtue that I think is very important, a virtue that I hope I have. To me, kindness is sharing your happiness with others.

The quote by John Lennon was a fantastic summation of Aristotle’s views on life.

4 thoughts on “Who I Am

  1. I love how you describe happiness as a heart warming feeling. That captures exactly how it feels; it is hard to describe but there is no other feeling quite like it. I love your goals because a few of them mirror my own: graduate from nursing school, get a job within a year, and have a family of my own. I also love the picture of the little guy holding his umbrella over the flower. That is a precious picture of kindness.

  2. I agree with you 100% that once you’ve graduated you’ll feel true happiness and achievement!! Not everyone can make it through college in 4 years, myself included. But none the less once we’ve graduated we’ve one of the many milestones to having a happy and fulfilling life!

  3. I really enjoyed reading you post! You have a bright future ahead of you and I wish you all the best!! 🙂 I really like how you describe happiness with something materialistic. I agree too. Those little things do make one feel the happiest sometimes!

Leave a Reply

